Hot Topics

The City of St. John's ensures media, residents and businesses are kept informed about issues, programs, initiatives and projects the City is working on by posting media releases, media advisories and public service announcements to this webpage. This view shows ALL the hot topics news sorted by Publication Date in descending order. Please click 'read more' on any of the news items below to learn more.
Please subscribe to the City's news e-Updates to ensure you don't miss any of our releases.

Thursday, November 16, 2017 - 7:15pm
National Child Day in Canada is Nov.20 and the City of St. John’s is recognizing it with a week full of free events from Nov.19-26.
Friday, November 10, 2017 - 3:45pm
Every year on November 11, Canadians pause in a silent moment of remembrance for the men and women who have served, and continue to serve our country during times of war, conflict and peace.
Wednesday, November 8, 2017 - 5:00pm
Save the date for the City of St. John's Food Drive, taking place this year from Nov. 20-24.
Monday, November 6, 2017 - 6:15pm
Leaves placed at the curb for pick up must be in paper yard waste bags. Leaves in plastic bags will not be collected and will be left at the curbside.
Friday, October 20, 2017 - 6:30pm
The 2017 Tim Hortons Brier was worth an estimated $10.1 million to the province, including $9.1 million to the City of St. John’s economy.
Friday, October 20, 2017 - 2:00pm
The Kiwanis Club of St. John's were among the first supporters of the R.E.A.L. Program when it began 15 years ago, and have continued their generosity every year since.
Thursday, October 19, 2017 - 2:15pm
October 16 to 22 is Waste Reduction Week in Canada and to celebrate we're hosting a fair, a selfie contest and a backyard composting information session.
Friday, October 13, 2017 - 6:45pm
During Waste Reduction Week in Canada show us how you reduce waste in your home, school or workplace.
Wednesday, October 11, 2017 - 1:45pm
Congratulations to City Council, 2017-2021, who are now officially sworn-in to office.
Tuesday, October 10, 2017 - 4:00pm
Everyone needs to know what to do and where to go if there is a fire. Do you have a plan?
Thursday, October 5, 2017 - 12:45pm
Close to 100 cats were adopted during the recent reduced-fee adoption event, thanks in part to an anonymous donor.
Wednesday, October 4, 2017 - 2:45pm
The last Music @ concert for 2017 takes place 12:30 to 1:30 p.m. Friday, Oct. 6 at Atlantic Place.
Friday, September 29, 2017 - 1:30pm
The City of St. John's is celebrating National Family Week with a variety of activities for families of all ages and abilities!
Tuesday, September 26, 2017 - 8:45pm
Click here for results...
Friday, September 22, 2017 - 2:00pm
Anonymous benefactor pays it forward and sponsors 50 cat adoptions to help see the animals go to good homes.
Tuesday, September 19, 2017 - 12:15pm
Have mailed your ballot yet for the municipal election?
Tuesday, September 5, 2017 - 2:45pm
Church or mosque doesn't matter; application was rejected due to lack of infrastructure ... read more
Tuesday, August 29, 2017 - 3:15pm
Doyle’s Road and Petty Harbour Road have been designated as emergency access points for police, fire and ambulance during tomorrow’s Chase the Ace event in Goulds.
Wednesday, August 23, 2017 - 5:45pm
Children from community centres and activity centres across the city were asked to show how they felt about their neighbourhoods through a visual art display.
Monday, August 14, 2017 - 6:45pm
Beginning August 16 a small section of Heavy Tree Road, between Brookfield Road and Commonwealth Road, will be permanently closed to all traffic.
Wednesday, August 9, 2017 - 5:30pm
The City is working towards a number of roundabouts in the MUN area. Here's why...
Tuesday, August 8, 2017 - 12:15pm
City to host an information session for potential candidates....
Monday, August 7, 2017 - 7:30pm
Council has accepted the MUN Traffic Study and will incorporate recommendations into City plans...
Monday, August 7, 2017 - 2:15pm
Effective immediately motorists are no longer permitted to enter Winter Avenue from King’s Bridge Road.
Wednesday, July 26, 2017 - 3:30pm
Did you know that you must register to vote for the upcoming municipal election?

Pages