Hot Topics

The City of St. John's ensures media, residents and businesses are kept informed about issues, programs, initiatives and projects the City is working on by posting media releases, media advisories and public service announcements to this webpage. This view shows ALL the hot topics news sorted by Publication Date in descending order. Please click 'read more' on any of the news items below to learn more.
Please subscribe to the City's news e-Updates to ensure you don't miss any of our releases.

Monday, September 26, 2022 - 3:00pm
During the Pedestrian Mall event this year, the BlindSquare Event app was piloted in partnership with the CNIB.
Friday, September 23, 2022 - 2:00pm
We have space in some of our fall recreation programs.
Thursday, September 22, 2022 - 9:15am
It’s hurricane season and the City of St. John’s is asking everyone to do their part to be prepared for extreme weather events.
Tuesday, September 20, 2022 - 9:45am
On sept. 21, the City along with partners will have a tree planting event and BBQ to celebrate National Tree day. All are welcome to attend.
Friday, September 16, 2022 - 11:00am
...learn online or at one of the upcoming in-person sessions
Thursday, September 15, 2022 - 3:00pm
Seniors’ Week is being celebrated from October 3 to 7. This year’s theme is ‘Seniors Reconnecting.’
Friday, September 9, 2022 - 10:45am
We have space in our adult and older adult programs this fall.
Thursday, September 1, 2022 - 9:45am
During 12-weeks, the 2022 summer litter crew used 575 clear garbage bags to pick up nearly 6 tonnes of litter from roadsides in St. John’s.
Wednesday, August 31, 2022 - 3:15pm
The Downtown Pedestrian Mall (DPM) is a seasonal event and is planned annually from June 30 to Labour Day. The event will end on September 5, as planned.
Wednesday, August 31, 2022 - 9:30am
Thank you to Alex Newhook, his family and supporting businesses for taking time out of their Stanley Cup celebrations to raise over $11,000 for the REAL program.
Tuesday, August 30, 2022 - 4:30pm
The Canadian Tire Jumpstart Playground at Mundy Pond Park opened to the public on August 12.
Monday, August 29, 2022 - 3:45pm
The City of St. John’s offers preschool for young children at various community centres throughout the City.
Friday, August 26, 2022 - 11:00am
On August 22, the City of St. John’s held the Stanley Cup Parade for champion Alex Newhook of the Colorado Avalanche. The streets of St. John’s were lined with people of all ages wanting to celebrate
Tuesday, August 23, 2022 - 11:15am
Signalized intersections are designed with a pedestrian walk signal for the safety of pedestrians. There are 113 signalized intersections in the city programmed with pedestrian walk signal.
Wednesday, August 17, 2022 - 9:45am
A case study from non-profit housing
Monday, August 15, 2022 - 9:30am
Cruise ship season is well underway in St. John’s. Some upcoming cruise ships coming to our city include the Nieuw Statendam and the Amadea docking here on the same day on August 22.
Friday, August 12, 2022 - 10:00am
...details on the route and celebration in Price Edward Plaza, George Street.
Thursday, August 11, 2022 - 9:30am
Mayor Breen welcomes everyone to our colourful, exciting and historic city...
Tuesday, August 2, 2022 - 9:30am
Registration will open for Fall 2022 recreation programs on Thursday, August 11 for residents of St. John's.
Thursday, July 28, 2022 - 2:00pm
In the coming weeks some city streets will see painted unidirectional bike lanes.
Tuesday, July 26, 2022 - 4:30pm
Six strategic plan initiatives were completed since the last progress update in March 2022...
Tuesday, July 26, 2022 - 12:45pm
The scheduled overnight street cleaning in the Downtown will now take place with new times between the hours of 10 p.m. and 6 a.m.
Monday, July 25, 2022 - 3:45pm
The City of St. John's is hiring Recreation Counsellors, Inclusion Counsellors, Outdoor Recreation Instructors and an Inclusion Recreation Assistant.
Wednesday, July 20, 2022 - 3:30pm
On Sat. July 23, 2022, Dollar A Day, St. John’s Regional Fire Department and IAFF Local 1075 are raising the bucket for Mental Health and Addictions Care as part of the Fighting Chance program.
Friday, July 15, 2022 - 2:30pm
Music @ is an exciting mix of sights and sounds in St. John's. Many different musical styles are featured during our free summer concerts including folk, rock, pop, trad, country, and more.

Pages