Election Overview

Election Overview

St. John's City HallThe City of St. John’s conducts a Municipal Election every 4 years and has been successfully using vote by mail since 2001.  

Municipal Council Composition
Prospective candidates will have the option to run for one of the following 11 positions:

  • Mayor
  • Deputy Mayor
  • Councillor at Large (four positions)
  • Councillor - Ward 1
  • Councillor - Ward 2
  • Councillor - Ward 3
  • Councillor - Ward 4
  • Councillor - Ward 5

The following legislation is used to govern all aspects of the City of St. John's Municipal Election

The Chief Returning Officer is the City Clerk, and is responsible for administering the election.

The Elections Coordinator is responsible for coordinating all aspects of the Municipal Election and is the key contact:

Elections Coordinator
P.O. Box 908
St. John's, NL 
A1C 5M2
Email: election@stjohns.ca