News

The City of St. John's ensures media, residents and businesses are kept informed about issues, programs, initiatives and projects the City is working on by posting media releases, media advisories and public service announcements to this webpage. This view shows ALL news sorted by Publication Date in descending order. Please click 'read more' on any of the news items below to learn more.
Please subscribe to the City's news e-Updates to ensure you don't miss any of our releases.

Tuesday, February 16, 2016 - 9:15am
The City of St. John’s built heritage is a significant part of the City’s culture. Each year on Heritage Day the City takes a moment to recognize individuals and businesses.
Wednesday, February 10, 2016 - 11:15am
An employee of the City for the past 29 years, Mr. Martin has been the City Manager since 2014. Prior to that, he held the position of Deputy City Manager, Corporate Services, and also the City Clerk.
Monday, February 8, 2016 - 4:45pm
In early November, Council approved an Early Retirement Incentive Program for individuals who were eligible to retire or close to being eligible to retire in 2015.
Thursday, February 4, 2016 - 5:15pm
The City has been made aware of an irregularity in the voters list for the Ward 4 byelection that has resulted in ballots being mailed to a number of households outside the voting area.
Thursday, February 4, 2016 - 11:00am
The City is using a vote by mail system for the upcoming byelection. Although ballots were scheduled to be mailed starting Feb. 5, delivery began a few days early.
Tuesday, February 2, 2016 - 9:30am
Following Budget 2016-18, the City is introducing a new comprehensive departmental review process that will analyze every service and program to determine which should remain.
Monday, February 1, 2016 - 3:00pm
Due to the change in the province’s financial outlook, Moody’s Investors Service has reaffirmed the City’s credit rating of Aa2 but has reduced the rating outlook from stable to negative.
Friday, January 29, 2016 - 11:30am
Effective immediately the City of St. John's Visitor Information Centre at 348 Water Street will operate on a seasonal basis from May to October.
Tuesday, January 26, 2016 - 4:15pm
On Feb. 23, residents living in Ward 4 of the City of St. John's will elect a new Councillor. Congratulations to the candidates who have been successfully nominated.
Tuesday, January 26, 2016 - 2:00pm
In preparation of Budget 2016-18 the City reviewed programs and services, and as a result many services formerly provided by GCA will now be delivered through public tender or by City staff.
Monday, January 4, 2016 - 8:00pm
In accordance with the Municipal Elections Act, Jan. 19 to 26, are the days on which nomination of candidates for Ward 4 Councillor for the Feb.23 municipal byelection will take place.
Monday, January 4, 2016 - 9:00am
Upon closer examination of The City of St. John’s Municipal Taxation Act and in consultation with the City Solicitor, City Manager Neil Martin has directed staff to reinstate the .5 mil reduction.
Monday, January 4, 2016 - 5:15am
On January 4, Councillor Jonathan Galgay, Chair of the Standing Committee on Finance and Administration, will table a motion in Council to reinstate the arts grants to previous budget levels.
Tuesday, December 29, 2015 - 7:45am
Join us for our annual fireworks display at Quidi Vidi Lake on Thursday, Dec. 31 to celebrate the arrival of 2016.
Tuesday, December 22, 2015 - 3:30am
Due to the upcoming holidays all City offices and facilities will be closed from noon Thursday, Dec.24, reopening on Tuesday, Dec. 29 and on noon Thursday, Dec.31 to Friday, Jan. 1. Note exceptions.
Wednesday, December 16, 2015 - 8:45am
City staff have begun the ice making process at The Loop in Bannerman Park; however, it is not suitable for skating at this time. Skating on The Loop before it is ready delays the opening.
Monday, December 14, 2015 - 4:30pm
Today, the City of St. John’s released the details of Budget 2016-18, its second three-year plan.
Thursday, December 10, 2015 - 1:00pm
On Monday, Dec 7 during City Council meeting it was announced that the by-election for the vacant Ward 4 Council seat will take place on Tuesday, Feb. 23, 2016.
Thursday, December 3, 2015 - 2:45pm
Mayor O’Keefe and members of Council join representatives from the local arts community to celebrate the City’s Art Procurement Program with the launch of a new art exhibit on display at City Hall.
Thursday, November 26, 2015 - 1:30pm
Residential and commercial property assessments are currently being mailed to property owners.
Wednesday, November 25, 2015 - 3:00pm
On Saturday, Dec. 5 at 5 p.m., the City of St. John’s celebrates the lighting of Bowring Park at the duck pond to ring in the holiday season.
Tuesday, November 24, 2015 - 12:00pm
The City Manager has announce the appointment senior executive positions effective Tuesday, Dec.1, 2015.
Monday, November 23, 2015 - 3:00pm
The City of St. John’s together with the Canadian Mortgage and Housing Corporation is hosting a Seniors Housing Forum on Tuesday, Dec. 8 from 8:30 a.m. to 2 p.m. in the Foran/Greene Room, City Hall.
Friday, November 20, 2015 - 5:00pm
The City has extended the food drive by one week for residents who may have forgotten to put out their donations, or were inadvertently missed.
Thursday, November 19, 2015 - 12:30pm
Today, the St. John’s Local Immigration Partnership (LIP) together with Newfoundland and Labrador Public Libraries (NLPL) announced the results of the Welcome Project.

Pages