News

The City of St. John's ensures media, residents and businesses are kept informed about issues, programs, initiatives and projects the City is working on by posting media releases, media advisories and public service announcements to this webpage. This view shows ALL news sorted by Publication Date in descending order. Please click 'read more' on any of the news items below to learn more.
Please subscribe to the City's news e-Updates to ensure you don't miss any of our releases.

Friday, October 2, 2015 - 10:30am
On Wednesday, Oct. 7 learn more about how you can help protect your neighborhood by attending the sixth annual Neighborhood Watch Awareness Day from 7 to 9 p.m. at the Foran/Greene Room, City Hall.
Thursday, October 1, 2015 - 1:45pm
During the summer the City of St. John’s worked closely with consultants to carry out a comprehensive public engagement process about how to refresh Water Street. Results are now available online.
Friday, September 25, 2015 - 3:15pm
On Tuesday, Sept. 29 the public is invited to attend a roundtable discussion as part of the engagement process for the development of the City’s Budget 2016-18.
Tuesday, September 22, 2015 - 9:45am
Today the City of St. John’s is hosting a civic reception for visitors from County Waterford, Ireland at the Quidi Vidi Village Plantation.
Monday, September 14, 2015 - 1:30pm
From Monday to Friday, September 14 - 18, a design studio will be stationed at the Visitor/Business Information Centre, 348 Water Street.
Thursday, September 10, 2015 - 1:00pm
Government representatives from the Caribbean and staff from the Federation of Canadian Municipalities’ Caribbean Local Economic Program are visiting St. John’s and area this week.
Wednesday, September 2, 2015 - 2:45pm
Due to the Labour Day holiday on Monday, September 7, all City offices and facilities will be closed. There is no waste collection on Labour Day.
Monday, August 24, 2015 - 11:00am
The City is in the planning phase for the replacement of century-old infrastructure beneath Water Street, we want residents, visitors and businesses to share opinions and ideas for the street.
Thursday, August 20, 2015 - 4:15pm
Motorists, residents, and businesses are advised that beginning on Monday, August 24, the final phase of exploratory work on Water Street will be completed.
Monday, August 10, 2015 - 3:30pm
The City of St. John’s will introduce a new Bids Opportunities site on September 17.
Monday, August 3, 2015 - 2:45pm
Residents are advised that due to the Royal St. John’s Regatta holiday all City offices are closed on Regatta Day. Garbage and recycling collections will continue as normal this week.
Monday, August 3, 2015 - 11:30am
As progress continues on the St. John’s Convention Centre, the City of St. John’s is pleased to announce that artwork commissioned for the Water Street-facing exterior façade has been installed.
Tuesday, July 28, 2015 - 3:30pm
Yesterday, City Council voted to approve automated garbage collection for the City of St. John’s, to be rolled out over a three to five year period.
Friday, July 24, 2015 - 3:45pm
Throughout the next few months the City of St. John’s will be ‘popping up’ at a variety of locations. Staff and members of City Council will be on hand to engage with residents on a variety of topics.
Thursday, July 23, 2015 - 11:00am
The City of St. John’s, the Royal Newfoundland Constabulary and the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador give an update on joint efforts to enforce regulations related to securing cargo loads.
Tuesday, July 21, 2015 - 3:00pm
The general public are advised that due to ongoing construction of the new pool house in Bowring Park there is an increase in motor vehicle traffic throughout the park.
Thursday, July 16, 2015 - 10:45am
The general public are invited to attend the grand opening of the Edgar Hartery Memorial Field, formerly known as the minor league field at St.Pat’s Ballpark, on Monday, July 20 at 5:30 p.m.
Wednesday, July 15, 2015 - 8:45am
The City of St. John’s has again received a positive credit rating of ‘A+’ from international credit rating agency Standard and Poor’s.
Tuesday, July 14, 2015 - 12:15pm
Economic growth in the St. John’s Census Metropolitan Area (CMA) is expected to increase marginally this year; real GDP is forecast to grow by 0.3 per cent in 2015.
Thursday, July 9, 2015 - 5:00pm
Exploratory work on the water and sewer infrastructure on Water Street is scheduled to begin on Sunday July 12 at 11 p.m.
Thursday, July 9, 2015 - 1:00pm
Due to the Orangeman’s Day holiday on Monday, July 13, most City offices and facilities will be closed.
Tuesday, June 30, 2015 - 1:45pm
The City of St. John’s has hired a consultant to begin exploratory work on the water and sewer infrastructure on Water Street, beginning in early July, between Waldegrave Street and Job’s Cove.
Monday, June 29, 2015 - 3:00pm
Due to the Canada Day and Memorial Day holiday on Wednesday, July 1, all City offices and facilities, including the Robin Hood Bay Waste Management Facility, will be closed.
Friday, June 26, 2015 - 2:00pm
St. John’s Celebrates Canada Day from sunrise to sunset on Wednesday, July 1, with free events throughout the City.
Thursday, June 25, 2015 - 1:15pm
On Mon. June 29, from 9 a.m to 6 p.m., help support local children and youth by dropping off your used sports equipment at the City of St. John’s (R.E.A.L.) office, 1 Crosbie Place, Crosbie Building.

Pages