News

The City of St. John's ensures media, residents and businesses are kept informed about issues, programs, initiatives and projects the City is working on by posting media releases, media advisories and public service announcements to this webpage. This view shows ALL news sorted by Publication Date in descending order. Please click 'read more' on any of the news items below to learn more.
Please subscribe to the City's news e-Updates to ensure you don't miss any of our releases.

Monday, December 23, 2019 - 2:00pm
Due to the volume of snow forecasted for the coming week, the City of St. John’s is required to implement the on-street parking ban as of 12:30 a.m. on Wednesday, December 25, 2019.
Monday, December 23, 2019 - 12:45pm
Due to the upcoming holidays all City offices and facilities are closed; noon on Tuesday, Dec. 24, re-opening Friday, Dec. 27; and, noon on Tuesday, Dec. 31, re-opening Thursday, Jan. 2
Thursday, December 19, 2019 - 10:45am
Today, the City of St. John’s released the Electoral Reform Report, prepared by a third-party expert’s panel at the request of Council’s Electoral Reform Subcommittee.
Wednesday, December 18, 2019 - 10:30am
New beacons are being installed at two crosswalks along Military Road at the intersections of Monkstown Road, and Kings Road, and are expected to be in place by early next week.
Tuesday, December 17, 2019 - 2:00pm
Today, the City of St. John’s in partnership with the Craft Council of Newfoundland and Labrador unveiled the recently installed public art project at Solomon’s Lane.
Tuesday, December 17, 2019 - 1:45pm
City staff have begun the ice making process at The Loop in Bannerman Park; however, it is not suitable for skating yet. Please stay off the ice surface until the official opening is announced.
Monday, December 16, 2019 - 2:30pm
The City of St. John’s is accepting nominations for the 2020 Heritage Awards. These awards recognize commercial and residential property owners for their work.
Friday, December 6, 2019 - 10:45am
The St. John’s Regional Fire Department wishes to advise that all vendors who sell fireworks in the region are required to have persons on staff that are certified to sell consumer fireworks.
Monday, December 2, 2019 - 5:30pm
Today, the City of St. John’s released the details of Budget 2020, the second year in a three-year budget plan for 2019-2021.
Friday, November 29, 2019 - 11:15am
Mount Pearl, Paradise and St. John’s have announced a pilot project designed to enhance safety at intersections and crosswalks for people who live with sight loss or mobility challenges.
Thursday, November 28, 2019 - 1:45pm
This holiday season consider giving the gift of play to a child in need. The REAL Program provides recreation and leisure opportunities to children and youth in financial need.
Thursday, November 28, 2019 - 11:30am
The contract for new pay stations and parking meters has been finalized, with the first lot of pay stations expected to be installed in sections of the downtown during winter 2020.
Monday, November 25, 2019 - 12:15pm
The City of St. John’s has restructured its annual New Year’s Eve celebrations to be more inclusive to all ages.
Monday, November 25, 2019 - 9:30am
The City’s Animal Care and Adoption Centre received an early visit from Santa, through an anonymous donor who has once again made it possible for 36 cats to be adopted to loving homes, free of charge.
Friday, November 22, 2019 - 9:15am
Today, St. John’s Regional Fire Department Chief Sherry Colford, Councillor Collins, and Assistant Fire Chief Hemeon announced that the Goulds Station, will be transitioning to a full time station.
Thursday, November 21, 2019 - 11:00am
The City of St. John’s has released the findings of a recent online survey about the organization’s website. In total, 223 responses were collected over a four-week period from a variety of people.
Wednesday, November 20, 2019 - 8:45am
Today, City Council and the Board of St. John’s Sports and Entertainment Ltd. (SJSEL) released a Jurisdictional Comparison prepared for the Board by consultants KPMG.
Monday, November 18, 2019 - 5:00pm
From Monday, Nov. 18 to Friday, Nov. 29 the City is holding its annual food drive to collect non-perishable food items in support of the Community Food Sharing Association (CFSA).
Wednesday, November 13, 2019 - 11:45am
This City of St. John’s is celebrating National Child Day with a week of free events from Sunday, Nov. 17 to Saturday, Nov. 23; check the City’s website calendar of events for details.
Tuesday, November 12, 2019 - 3:45pm
On December 9, 2019, St. John’s City Council will announce its budget for the 2020 fiscal year which will include setting the mill rates and water tax for residential and commercial property owners.
Friday, November 8, 2019 - 2:45pm
The City is planning for the next phase of the Water Street infrastructure project, set to start in spring 2020. A drop-in information session is scheduled for Wednesday, Nov. 20.
Friday, November 8, 2019 - 9:45am
The City of St. John’s is recognizing National Housing Day starting with a proclamation signing on Monday, Nov. 18. There are several free, public events from Nov. 18 to 22.
Thursday, November 7, 2019 - 9:00am
City offices and facilities will be closed in observance of the Remembrance Day holiday on Monday, Nov.11. There is no waste collection on Monday.
Wednesday, November 6, 2019 - 1:00pm
The Public Transit Review final report by Dillon Consulting has been presented to City Council and the report is available for the public to view at engagestjohns.ca.
Tuesday, November 5, 2019 - 8:00am
To replace a section of watermain that experienced a break in September, the City of St. John’s will be closing Allandale Road from Higgins Line to the Prince Philip Drive, November 8 to 11.

Pages