News

The City of St. John's ensures media, residents and businesses are kept informed about issues, programs, initiatives and projects the City is working on by posting media releases, media advisories and public service announcements to this webpage. This view shows ALL news sorted by Publication Date in descending order. Please click 'read more' on any of the news items below to learn more.
Please subscribe to the City's news e-Updates to ensure you don't miss any of our releases.

Monday, May 16, 2016 - 12:30pm
On Monday, May 16, Council will address a resolution to award philanthropist Elinor Gill Ratcliffe the Freedom of the City.
Monday, May 9, 2016 - 4:45pm
The City of St. John’s has identified measures to tighten up the vacancy allowance procedure through collaboration with representatives of the local business community.
Wednesday, May 4, 2016 - 9:45am
The bridge on Pearltown Road at South Brook will be replaced in 2016, anticipated to begin in June, and due to the nature of the work the bridge will be closed to through traffic for 3 to 4 months.
Monday, May 2, 2016 - 4:30pm
Sewer program returns with enhancements to sewer back-up and pipe thawing program...
Thursday, April 28, 2016 - 1:00pm
The City of St. John's is celebrating National Youth Week from May 1 to 7 with multiple events including art shows, recreational activities and the annual Youth of the Year celebration.
Thursday, April 21, 2016 - 3:30pm
Due to the St. George’s Day holiday on Monday, April 25, most City offices and facilities will be closed.
Thursday, April 14, 2016 - 4:00pm
Street Cleaning removes dirt and debris from street and prevents damage to infrastructure. It occurs downtown from Monday, April 18 to September 23, 2016.
Thursday, April 14, 2016 - 10:15am
In February former City Manager Neil Martin announced his retirement due to health reasons.
Friday, April 8, 2016 - 9:45am
The City of St. John’s today announced the proposed plan for a new community market at the former Metrobus location on Freshwater Road is moving forward.
Thursday, April 7, 2016 - 4:15pm
The City of St. John’s is considering an option to replace aging infrastructure on Water Street using trenchless technology.
Monday, April 4, 2016 - 9:45am
The City of St. John's has received a grant of $25,000 under TD Green Streets Program for the Community Roots Tree Planting Program.
Wednesday, March 30, 2016 - 5:45am
The City of St. John's On-Street Parking Ban for streets outside the designated downtown area will be lifted at 7:30 a.m. on Thursday, March 31.
Monday, March 28, 2016 - 9:15am
City Council has voted to accept a shift optimization strategy for 2017 that will result in the elimination of management and staff positions.
Thursday, March 24, 2016 - 4:30am
The general public are advised that the John J. Murphy building, also known as City of St. John’s Annex, across from City Hall will undergo building envelope improvements beginning Monday, March 28.
Wednesday, March 23, 2016 - 12:00pm
Based on a vote by City Council the St. Stephen the Martyr flag that was raised on Monday, March 21 has been taken down.
Tuesday, March 22, 2016 - 9:00am
Due to the Good Friday holiday all City offices and facilities will be closed on Friday, March 25.
Monday, March 21, 2016 - 12:00pm
City Council has approved contributions of $1,279,180 in the form of direct cash grants for community based organizations.
Wednesday, March 16, 2016 - 3:15am
Yesterday City Council was provided an update on the Seniors Housing Research Project, which was recently shared with the public during the Seniors Housing Forum.
Thursday, March 10, 2016 - 9:00am
City Council has approved contributions totaling in excess of $522,000 in the form of direct cash grants and the waiving of permit fees for five non-profit groups and organizations for 2016.
Wednesday, March 9, 2016 - 7:15am
Due to St. Patrick’s Day holiday all City offices and facilities will be closed on Monday, March 14. Please note that garbage and recycling collection is unaffected by the holiday.
Tuesday, March 8, 2016 - 8:45am
Enter by signing up for waste and recycling reminders before Monday, March 21 (deadline extended) and you will be eligible to win a $200 shopping certificate!
Thursday, March 3, 2016 - 4:15pm
On Monday during the City Council meeting Councillor Jonathan Galgay, Chair of the Finance and Administration Standing Committee will bring forward a comprehensive approach for building Budget 2017.
Wednesday, March 2, 2016 - 2:30pm
Economic Review 2015 reports that the St. John’s Census Metropolitan Area (CMA) recorded tepid economic performance in 2015, as some indicators experienced slow growth while others declined.
Tuesday, March 1, 2016 - 4:15pm
Council pleased to work with Board of Trade and businesses in spirit of cooperation.
Tuesday, March 1, 2016 - 10:15am
Following a review of parking meter usage in the downtown, Parking Services has identified a number of streets on which parking meter time allotments will be reduced to two hours.

Pages