News

The City of St. John's ensures media, residents and businesses are kept informed about issues, programs, initiatives and projects the City is working on by posting media releases, media advisories and public service announcements to this webpage. This view shows ALL news sorted by Publication Date in descending order. Please click 'read more' on any of the news items below to learn more.
Please subscribe to the City's news e-Updates to ensure you don't miss any of our releases.

Monday, August 22, 2016 - 3:15pm
The City of St. John's is seeking nominations for the annual Senior of the Year Award, to be presented during City Council meeting on Monday, October 3.
Friday, August 12, 2016 - 4:00pm
The St. John’s Regional Fire Department (SJRFD) will begin operation of the newly constructed Paradise Fire Station No. 8 at 1565 Topsail Road effective 8 a.m. Tuesday, August 16.
Monday, August 8, 2016 - 11:15am
The City of St. John's is seeking nominations for the 25th Annual Tourism Awards, which will be presented in November.
Monday, August 1, 2016 - 3:30pm
Residents are advised that due to the Royal St. John’s Regatta holiday all City offices are closed. Garbage and recycling collections will continue as normal and are not affected by the holiday.
Monday, July 25, 2016 - 10:00pm
St. John’s City Council voted to continue its delivery on recommendations set out in the Mayor’s Advisory Committee on Crime Prevention report tabled in 2015.
Monday, July 25, 2016 - 12:00pm
Today, St. John’s City Council approved funding for capital improvements to affordable housing units. The work is estimated to cost approximately $500,000, to be funded by existing capital reserves.
Tuesday, July 19, 2016 - 5:15am
Members of Council are pleased to announce that Mr. Kevin Breen has been offered the permanent position of City Manager for the City of St. John’s.
Thursday, July 14, 2016 - 12:00pm
Economic Outlook 2016 reports that economic growth in the St. John’s Census Metropolitan Area (CMA) is expected to increase marginally this year.
Wednesday, July 13, 2016 - 8:15am
Sewer cleaning and investigative work to evaluate trenchless technologies for Water Street infrastructure improvements will continue in August.
Thursday, July 7, 2016 - 2:45am
Due to the Orangemen’s Day holiday on Monday, July 11, most City offices and facilities will be closed including the Access St. John’s front counter service.
Wednesday, July 6, 2016 - 7:45am
Canada Post has issued a 72-hour lockout notice to the Canadian Union of Postal Workers (CUPW) which may result in a suspension of service. Please note that billing due dates are still in effect.
Tuesday, July 5, 2016 - 7:45am
The City of St. John’s has launched its Budget 2017 engagement process. The online engagement portal is the first phase of the engagement process and allows residents and stakeholders to learn more.
Monday, July 4, 2016 - 1:15pm
Municipalities, with Support of Rotary, Issue RFP on Health of the Waterford River
Wednesday, June 29, 2016 - 12:15am
Due to the Memorial Day and Canada Day holiday on Friday, July 1, all City offices and facilities including the Robin Hood Bay Waste Management Facility will be closed.
Monday, June 27, 2016 - 8:45pm
St. John’s commemorates Memorial Day and celebrates Canada Day from sunrise to sunset on Friday, July 1, with free events throughout the City.
Thursday, June 23, 2016 - 10:45am
Due to the Discovery Day holiday on Monday, June 27, most City offices and facilities will be closed. The City Council meeting regularly scheduled for Monday will take place on Tuesday.
Wednesday, June 22, 2016 - 3:45pm
Following Budget 2016-18, the City introduced a new comprehensive departmental review process to analyze every service and program within the organization.
Tuesday, June 21, 2016 - 1:15pm
Construction of the new Paul Reynolds Community Centre at Wedgewood Park is proceeding on schedule. Starting June 27, contractors will begin construction of a new entrance to the facility.
Monday, June 20, 2016 - 12:15pm
Residents of the City of St. John's are invited to view a special photo exhibit showcasing the resettlement experiences of newcomers since arriving in St. John’s.
Thursday, June 16, 2016 - 1:15pm
Residents and businesses are advised that trial sewer cleaning and investigative work to evaluate trenchless technologies for Water Street infrastructure improvements will begin next week.
Wednesday, June 15, 2016 - 5:30pm
The City of St. John’s in partnership with the Government of Canada, the provincial government and officials from St. John’s Sports and Entertainment officially opened the Convention Centre.
Wednesday, June 1, 2016 - 10:45am
Today, the City of St. John’s celebrated Arbor Day and the Community Roots Tree Planting Program with a tree planting ceremony in Bannerman Park.
Tuesday, May 31, 2016 - 12:45pm
The City of St. John’s reminds residents that our watershed areas are protected to ensure the safety of our water supply.
Tuesday, May 24, 2016 - 11:00am
Since the announcement of the Pet Safe Keeping Program in February the City continues to seek applications from residents able to provide temporary accommodations for pets.
Thursday, May 19, 2016 - 12:15pm
On Wednesday, June 1, Humane Services is hosting a microchip clinic for privately owned pets (cats and dogs) of St. John’s residents.

Pages