News

The City of St. John's ensures media, residents and businesses are kept informed about issues, programs, initiatives and projects the City is working on by posting media releases, media advisories and public service announcements to this webpage. This view shows ALL news sorted by Publication Date in descending order. Please click 'read more' on any of the news items below to learn more.
Please subscribe to the City's news e-Updates to ensure you don't miss any of our releases.

Tuesday, August 27, 2013 - 10:00am
To see the list of candidates for the City of St. John's 2013 municipal election click 'read more'
Wednesday, August 21, 2013 - 1:30pm
The City of St. John’s is pleased that discussions towards a new fiscal relationship with the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador are now underway.
Tuesday, August 20, 2013 - 6:00am
The City of St. John’s has received an excellent credit rating of “A+ stable” from international credit rating agency Standard and Poor’s.
Thursday, August 15, 2013 - 4:30pm
Many will remember Paul O’Neill as an actor, activist or an author, but for Mayor Dennis O’Keefe he will always remember Paul O’Neill as a perfect example of a “townie”.
Thursday, August 15, 2013 - 2:00pm
The Dom Carlos I, a Portuguese naval research vessel, will be in port from Aug.16 to 18. For a list of activities while in port, including an open house on Aug.17 click 'read more'.
Monday, August 12, 2013 - 5:15pm
Registration begins on Thursday, Aug.15 for City recreations programs offered this fall. To learn more details about how, when and where to register, including online registration, click 'read more'.
Monday, August 12, 2013 - 5:30am
Mayor Dennis O’Keefe, Chair of Cruise St. John’s, is pleased to announce that the City will host two cruise ships during the upcoming week.
Tuesday, August 6, 2013 - 4:15pm
Are you interested in running for Council in the next municipal election? Call now to book your nomination appointment.
Monday, August 5, 2013 - 5:00pm
The City of St. John's is installing a temporary pedestrian bridge on Carnell Drive for the duration of Regatta to allow for better pedestrian traffic flow.
Monday, August 5, 2013 - 1:00pm
For more information about what City services are affected by the Regatta Day holiday please click 'read more'
Tuesday, July 30, 2013 - 8:30am
Infrastructure has been on the minds of St. John’s Council, who approved a three-year infrastructure plan worth approximately $270 million in the spring.
Monday, July 22, 2013 - 11:15am
The MS Delphin is scheduled to make its first visit to St. John's on Wednesday, July 24 with 470 passengers and 200 crew aboard.
Wednesday, July 17, 2013 - 4:30pm
The Toronto Blue Jays Care Foundation, St. John’s Minor Baseball Association and City of St. John’s opened the newly renovated Airport Heights Baseball Field on Tuesday, July 16.
Thursday, July 11, 2013 - 4:30pm
Learn what City facilities and services are affected by the Orangeman's Day holiday on Monday, July 15. Click 'read more' to find out.
Tuesday, July 9, 2013 - 10:30am
The City of St. John’s is pleased to announce that Sharron Callahan is the winner of the 3rd annual Senior of the Year Award.
Tuesday, July 9, 2013 - 5:00am
Council has voted in favour of overhauling its current pension structure. For more information on the new Council pension please click 'read more'.
Monday, July 8, 2013 - 3:00am
The City is conducting its election in September, 2013 using vote by mail. To ensure you receive your voters’ kit, please confirm the information the City has on record for you is correct.
Wednesday, July 3, 2013 - 5:00pm
The City of St. John’s, with the support of Husky Energy, is pleased to present the Music at Harbourside Lunchtime Concert Series again this year.
Thursday, June 27, 2013 - 3:00pm
Robin and Hoodie, at the young age of five weeks are living proof that cats do indeed have nine lives.
Thursday, June 27, 2013 - 2:30pm
The City of St. John’s and St. John’s Canada Day Committee partners invite you to join us for free family events from sunrise to sunset on Monday, July 1 as we celebrate being Canadian!
Wednesday, June 26, 2013 - 6:30pm
Find out what City facilities and services are affected by the Canada Day/Memorial Day holiday on Monday, July 1.
Friday, June 21, 2013 - 8:30am
Mayor Dennis O’Keefe is seeking approval from Council next week to form a Mayor’s Advisory Committee on Crime Prevention.
Thursday, June 20, 2013 - 8:00am
Find out what City facilities and services are affected by the Discovery Day holiday on Monday, June 24 by clicking 'read more'.
Wednesday, June 19, 2013 - 10:45am
The City of St. John’s will celebrate its 125th birthday June 21 to 23 with a series of family friendly weekend events.
Monday, June 17, 2013 - 11:30am
Investment associated with major project activity continues to be supported by strong wage growth and general consumer and business optimism in the St. John’s Census Metropolitan Area (CMA).

Pages