News

The City of St. John's ensures media, residents and businesses are kept informed about issues, programs, initiatives and projects the City is working on by posting media releases, media advisories and public service announcements to this webpage. This view shows ALL news sorted by Publication Date in descending order. Please click 'read more' on any of the news items below to learn more.
Please subscribe to the City's news e-Updates to ensure you don't miss any of our releases.

Tuesday, July 9, 2013 - 5:00am
Council has voted in favour of overhauling its current pension structure. For more information on the new Council pension please click 'read more'.
Monday, July 8, 2013 - 3:00am
The City is conducting its election in September, 2013 using vote by mail. To ensure you receive your voters’ kit, please confirm the information the City has on record for you is correct.
Wednesday, July 3, 2013 - 5:00pm
The City of St. John’s, with the support of Husky Energy, is pleased to present the Music at Harbourside Lunchtime Concert Series again this year.
Thursday, June 27, 2013 - 3:00pm
Robin and Hoodie, at the young age of five weeks are living proof that cats do indeed have nine lives.
Thursday, June 27, 2013 - 2:30pm
The City of St. John’s and St. John’s Canada Day Committee partners invite you to join us for free family events from sunrise to sunset on Monday, July 1 as we celebrate being Canadian!
Wednesday, June 26, 2013 - 6:30pm
Find out what City facilities and services are affected by the Canada Day/Memorial Day holiday on Monday, July 1.
Friday, June 21, 2013 - 8:30am
Mayor Dennis O’Keefe is seeking approval from Council next week to form a Mayor’s Advisory Committee on Crime Prevention.
Thursday, June 20, 2013 - 8:00am
Find out what City facilities and services are affected by the Discovery Day holiday on Monday, June 24 by clicking 'read more'.
Wednesday, June 19, 2013 - 10:45am
The City of St. John’s will celebrate its 125th birthday June 21 to 23 with a series of family friendly weekend events.
Monday, June 17, 2013 - 11:30am
Investment associated with major project activity continues to be supported by strong wage growth and general consumer and business optimism in the St. John’s Census Metropolitan Area (CMA).
Thursday, June 13, 2013 - 4:00pm
The contributions tourism makes to our community are recognized during Tourism Awareness Week and the City of St. John’s is celebrating by hosting its 22nd annual Tourism Awards.
Wednesday, June 5, 2013 - 11:30am
For the month of June, the Humane Services Shelter on 81 Higgins Line will be offering adoptions free of charge on your second pet.
Tuesday, June 4, 2013 - 12:00pm
On Saturday, June 8 the City of St. John’s and the East Coast Trail Association will conduct its annual volunteer litter clean-up of the Sugarloaf Path. Click read more to get involved.
Friday, May 31, 2013 - 12:00pm
Mayor Dennis O’Keefe is joining with other mayors from across the country to call on our provincial and federal government partners to work with municipalities to address the housing crisis.
Tuesday, May 28, 2013 - 4:00pm
The City of St. John’s is celebrating Seniors Day on Thursday, June 6 with an event at St. Teresa’s Parish Hall on Mundy Pond Road.
Tuesday, May 28, 2013 - 11:30am
The City of St. John’s has wood chips at no charge at Bowring Park and Wishingwell Park. This material is very beneficial to residents for home gardening purposes.
Friday, May 17, 2013 - 6:30pm
Registration is now open for the City of St. John’s third arts forum, Arts & The City 3, on May 24 and 25 at City Hall.
Thursday, May 16, 2013 - 1:00pm
Mayor Dennis O’Keefe met with key stakeholders to discuss Port security and safety issues surrounding the closure of the Canadian Coast Guard Marine Communications and Traffic Services Centre.
Thursday, May 16, 2013 - 10:30am
The City of St. John’s was one of a number of energy cities in Houston last week attending meetings of the World Energy Cities Partnership (WECP).
Thursday, May 16, 2013 - 4:30am
The Victoria Day holiday on Monday, May 20 affects many City facilities and services. Please click read more to get additional details.
Monday, May 13, 2013 - 6:30pm
The City of St. John’s announced its 2013 Capital Works Budget during its May 13 regular meeting of City Council, which includes $270 million in infrastructure investments over the next three years.
Friday, May 10, 2013 - 11:00am
SJSEL has presented its audited financial statements for 2012 to City Council and they show a continued positive fiscal trend for the organization.
Thursday, May 9, 2013 - 6:30am
The City of St. John’s is taking the next step forward to develop a comprehensive land-use plan for the lands above the 190-metre contour on Kenmount Road.
Wednesday, May 8, 2013 - 12:30pm
The Robin Hood Bay Waste Management Facility served its one millionth commercial customer on May 7, 2013 when a Shea Contracting truck passed through the weight scales.
Tuesday, May 7, 2013 - 2:30am
Mayor Dennis O’Keefe, Chairman,Cruise St. John’s, is pleased to announce the 2013 cruise season will get underway this week with the visit of the MV Silver Whisper of Silversea Cruises.

Pages