News

The City of St. John's ensures media, residents and businesses are kept informed about issues, programs, initiatives and projects the City is working on by posting media releases, media advisories and public service announcements to this webpage. This view shows ALL news sorted by Publication Date in descending order. Please click 'read more' on any of the news items below to learn more.
Please subscribe to the City's news e-Updates to ensure you don't miss any of our releases.

Friday, June 29, 2018 - 3:30pm
Nick Whalen, MP for St. John’s East, the Honorable Tom Osborne, Newfoundland and Labrador MHA, and Mayor Danny Breen, today announced over $21 million in joint funding.
Friday, June 29, 2018 - 12:00pm
Effective July 1, the City of St. John’s will be officially adopting new codes for building construction.
Thursday, June 28, 2018 - 3:15pm
Due to the Canada Day and Memorial Day holiday on Sunday, July 1, most City offices and facilities will be closed on Monday, July 2.
Thursday, June 28, 2018 - 12:45pm
All underground work for the first phase of the five-year project to rehabilitate infrastructure on Water Street will be completed this week.
Wednesday, June 27, 2018 - 12:45pm
Phase one of the City’s new automated garbage collection program has been in place since June 11. As of July 3, 2018, overfilled carts or excess garbage placed outside the cart will not be collected.
Tuesday, June 26, 2018 - 5:15pm
The public are invited to join City officials and representatives from the Royal Newfoundland Regiment on Saturday, June 30 at noon for the unveiling of ‘The Homecoming’, a monument in Bannerman Park.
Thursday, June 21, 2018 - 3:45pm
Due to the Discovery Day holiday on Monday, June 25, most City offices and facilities will be closed. Garbage and recycling collection is unaffected by the holiday.
Wednesday, June 20, 2018 - 10:30am
On Wednesday June 20, the City of St. John’s and the Association for New Canadians (ANC) open a new photo exhibit in the Wyatt Hall. Open to the public from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., June 21 to July 9.
Tuesday, June 19, 2018 - 9:00am
Should the city have a Municipal Auditor General? Panel conducts public engagement...
Monday, June 18, 2018 - 3:30pm
The first phase of the five-year project to rehabilitate 100-year-old infrastructure on Water Street is nearing completion with all the underground work on schedule to be complete by June 30.
Friday, June 15, 2018 - 1:15pm
Today the City of St. John’s and the St. John’s Farmers’ Market Cooperative signed a lease agreement for the St. John’s Community Market at 245 Freshwater Road.
Thursday, June 14, 2018 - 12:30pm
The City of St. John’s invites residents to celebrate St. John’s Days from June 22-24 and Canada Day on July 1.
Tuesday, June 12, 2018 - 11:30am
The St. John’s Regional Fire Department advises citizens to follow these simple tips and you will be on the way to safe grilling.
Thursday, June 7, 2018 - 1:30pm
On Thursday, June 7, City of St. John’s Inspection Services and the St. John’s Regional Fire Department issued a notice to close Cochrane Pond Family Campground until safety issues are addressed.
Wednesday, June 6, 2018 - 11:15am
Starting in June the City will begin excavation and exploratory work to rehabilitate the sanitary sewer in Goulds.
Tuesday, June 5, 2018 - 11:30am
Motorists in St. John’s have a new way to pay for parking on Harbour Drive with the launch of PayByPhone’s mobile app starting June 11.
Monday, June 4, 2018 - 4:45pm
On May 23, 2018, S&P Global Ratings affirmed its 'A+' long-term issuer credit and senior unsecured debt ratings on the City of St. John's.
Monday, June 4, 2018 - 10:00am
The City of St. John’s is pleased to announce that a new Fire Chief has been selected for the St. John’s Regional Fire Department.
Friday, June 1, 2018 - 1:30pm
The first phase of automated garbage collection begins in approximately one third of the city on Monday, June 11. Garbage inside the cart must be bagged.
Thursday, May 31, 2018 - 3:30pm
The City is seeking public feedback on the 2018 winter parking restriction pilot project that took place between 3:30 to 6:30 a.m. daily on sections of Water Street and Duckworth Street.
Tuesday, May 29, 2018 - 6:45pm
Today St. John’s City Council and staff welcomed tourism leaders from throughout the city to the annual Tourism Awards presentation at City Hall.
Wednesday, May 23, 2018 - 12:15pm
Public engagement begins on replacing the H.G.R. Mews Centre...
Tuesday, May 22, 2018 - 9:15am
During April and May, the City of St. John’s engaged with the public on existing traffic circulation and restrictions in the area of Rennie’s River between Portugal Cove Road and King’s Bridge Road...
Wednesday, May 16, 2018 - 2:15pm
Due to the Victoria Day holiday on Monday, May 21 all City offices and facilities will be closed. Garbage/recycling collection moved to the next day after regular pickup for all areas.
Monday, May 14, 2018 - 11:15am
Construction work to realign Polina Road intersection with the Avalon Mall is expected to begin in June and be completed in the fall. The City is also upgrading the Kenmount Road trunk storm sewer.

Pages