News

The City of St. John's ensures media, residents and businesses are kept informed about issues, programs, initiatives and projects the City is working on by posting media releases, media advisories and public service announcements to this webpage. This view shows ALL news sorted by Publication Date in descending order. Please click 'read more' on any of the news items below to learn more.
Please subscribe to the City's news e-Updates to ensure you don't miss any of our releases.

Sunday, September 22, 2019 - 1:15pm
The damaged section of Allandale Road is temporarily repaired to allow traffic flow; the southbound curb lane remains closed until paving is completed this week.
Monday, September 16, 2019 - 12:30pm
The City of St. John's and St. John's Sports and Entertainment Ltd. (SJSEL) would like to provide an update on the current offer to the Edge and the Growlers.
Friday, September 6, 2019 - 10:15am
A ‘What We Heard’ document from the second phase of public engagement for the Public Transit Review was released today.
Tuesday, September 3, 2019 - 2:15pm
The Fire Department is asking motorists to avoid Mount Scio Road due to safety and traffic concerns related to a fire in the area. Traffic is becoming congested.
Thursday, August 29, 2019 - 2:30pm
Due to the Labour Day holiday on Monday, September 2 all City offices and facilities will be closed. There is no waste collection on Labour Day.
Wednesday, August 28, 2019 - 2:15pm
The City’s Ticketing By-Law Amendment is to address issues with vehicles parking in timed parking areas in excess of the set time limit. The fine for parking illegally in a timed free area is $50.
Monday, August 26, 2019 - 11:00am
The City of St. John’s is engaging with the public on the redesign of the organization’s website. An online survey, available at engagestjohns.ca.
Wednesday, August 21, 2019 - 2:30pm
On Monday, August 19, City Council awarded a contract for the supply of new pay stations and parking meters to Cale Canada in partnership with EDC Corporation.
Friday, August 16, 2019 - 12:15pm
Public engagement on a proposed replacement location for the H.G.R Mews Community Centre at Mundy Pond Park took place in July. The ‘What We Heard’ document is now available online.
Tuesday, August 6, 2019 - 11:30am
Feedback will be considered by recreation staff in determining future programs, services, courses and events that will be offered at the Kenmount Terrace Community Centre.
Monday, August 5, 2019 - 2:30pm
The City is reminding motorists to be mindful and respectful when driving, especially through residential neighborhoods.
Monday, August 5, 2019 - 9:15am
Residents are advised that all City offices are closed during the Royal St. John’s Regatta holiday.
Tuesday, July 30, 2019 - 12:45pm
The watermain in various areas of the city is scheduled for cleaning and structural lining from Aug. to Nov. 2019.
Thursday, July 25, 2019 - 10:00am
In partnership with the City of St. John’s, Canadian Tire Jumpstart Charities announced today plans to build a universally accessible playground in Mundy Pond Park.
Tuesday, July 23, 2019 - 1:45pm
A Decision Note regarding the future of using phone-only payment on Harbour Drive will be presented and discussed at the upcoming Committee of the Whole meeting on Wed. July 24 in Council Chambers.
Friday, July 19, 2019 - 11:45am
The City of St. John’s is hosting a public information session about the Anglican Cathedral of St. John the Baptist’s application to build a new multi-purpose annex at 16 Church Hill.
Wednesday, July 17, 2019 - 10:00am
The public are invited to one of two engagement sessions to provide feedback on a new proposed site location for the replacement of the H.G.R. Mews Community Centre at Mundy Pond Park.
Friday, July 12, 2019 - 10:45am
Due to the Orangemen’s Day holiday on Mon. July 15, most City offices and facilities will be closed. Garbage and recycling collection is unaffected by the holiday.
Thursday, July 11, 2019 - 1:00pm
The St. John’s Regional Fire Department offers simple tips to ensure safe grilling.
Thursday, July 11, 2019 - 10:00am
The Mayors of Mount Pearl, Paradise and St. John’s addressed federal requirements to complete secondary wastewater treatment from the Riverhead Wastewater Treatment Facility by the end of 2020.
Wednesday, July 10, 2019 - 1:00pm
The Bowring Park Foundation and the City of St. John’s are pleased to honour two extraordinary individuals in a naming ceremony.
Monday, July 8, 2019 - 11:45am
St. John’s is expected to have the fastest real gross domestic product (GDP) growth of any major Canadian metropolitan area in 2019.
Tuesday, July 2, 2019 - 2:45pm
With the completion of the Water St construction project, two-way traffic will resume on Wednesday, July 3 at 7:30 am. A new 2-hour timed parking restriction being installed one section of Water St.
Tuesday, July 2, 2019 - 12:30pm
Starting on Wednesday, July 3 and continuing for approximately two days, flushing of the Petty Harbour Long Pond water transmission main will occur overnight, between 12:30 and 6:30 a.m.
Friday, June 28, 2019 - 10:15am
Due to the Canada Day and Memorial Day holiday on Monday, July 1, most City offices and facilities will be closed.

Pages