Thursday, September 24, 2020 - 9:00 AM

Ward 2 By-Election: Candidates Announced

Image of a green mail box with hand depositing a vote-by-mail kit

On Tuesday, October 20, residents living in Ward 2 of the City of St. John's will elect a new Councillor. Congratulations to the following candidates who have been successfully nominated:

Carol Anne Furlong
Matt Howse
Lorne Loder
Greg Noseworthy
Ophelia Ravencroft
Wallace Ryan
Shawn Skinner
Greg Smith


The City will once again be using a vote-by-mail system for the upcoming by-election. Residents of Ward 2 are encouraged to check the voters list to ensure they receive their vote-by-mail kit at the correct address. Visit the voter registration portal on the City’s website.
Voter kits will be delivered in the mail beginning Monday, Oct. 5. Completed kits are to be returned in the mail by Thursday, Oct. 15. Alternatively, residents can deposit their completed kit at the green drop box situated outside City Hall during the election period (Monday, Oct. 5 until 8 p.m. on Tuesday, Oct. 20).
Vote-by-mail kits will not be available at City Hall on Election Day (Tuesday, Oct. 20).  
On Election Day

On October 20 voters can drop off completed kits to the drop box outside City Hall or one of the following two satellite drop-off centres up until 8 p.m. on election day:

  • Knights of Columbus, 49 St. Clare Avenue
  • Royal Canadian Legion Branch 56, Pleasantville, 930 The Boulevard 

For further information about the by-election please email or visit the city’s website.