Wednesday, July 04, 2012 - 6:00 AM

Next Generation Making Their Mark at City Hall

The City of St. John's is pleased to announce that the Next Up! program - an initiative to enlist the participation of 19-35 year olds on City advisory committees - has made several appointments. The appointees and their respective committees include:

- Nick Mercer - Mayor's Advisory Committee on the Status of Persons with Disabilities
- Devonne Ryan - Mayor's Advisory Committee on Seniors
- Taryn Sheppard - Heritage Advisory Committee
- Sara Tilley - Arts Advisory Committee

"The Next Up! program is placing young people on established advisory committees where they will be providing advice to Council on a variety of issues," says Mayor Dennis O'Keefe. "The skills, talent and passion they are bringing to the table is just fantastic and I hope these are the first of many young people who will become involved in our advisory committees."

Next Up! is one of several initiatives identified in Roadmap 2021, the city's strategic economic plan. The plan recognizes the importance of working with young professionals to build a great city. The Next Up! Program was launched in December, 2011.

"This is about engaging, in a very direct and meaningful way, the next generation of residents - our future leaders," says Councillor Debbie Hanlon, who chaired the Roadmap Advisory Committee. "We are absolutely thrilled that these young people are willing to give of their time to make a difference in the City."

Check out the City's Facebook page for a short video and other information.

For further information:
Jennifer Mills
Communications Officer
City of St. John's
Phone: (709) 570-2037
Cell: (709) 690-7586

Dennis O'Keefe
City of St. John's
Phone: (709) 576-8477

Debbie Hanlon
Ward 4 Councillor
Chair, Roadmap Advisory Committee
City of St. John's
Phone: (709) 576-2383