Thursday, August 31, 2017 - 10:15 AM

Labour Day Holiday City Schedule

Due to the Labour Day holiday on Monday, September 4 all City offices and facilities will be closed, including Robin Hood Bay Regional Waste Management Facility. Please note the following exceptions:

  • The Visitor Information Centre at 348 Water Street will be open from 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
  • The Bannerman Park and Bowring Park splash pads will be open from 10 a.m. to 7 p.m.
  • Parking meter regulations will not be enforced.
  • The Access St. John’s Centre is available to residents 24 hours a day, seven days a week, by calling 311 or 709-754-CITY (2489) or online.

There is no waste collection on Labour Day. Garbage and recycling collection in all areas occurs the day after regular pick up day – including a Saturday pick up for area 5. Waste collection returns to the normal fixed schedule the week after, beginning Monday, September 11. Sign up for reminders at curbitstjohns.ca, or download the St. John’s Waste and Recycling App.

  • Monday, Sept. 4: no waste collection
  • Tuesday, Sept. 5: garbage areas 1A/B, recycling area 1B
  • Wednesday, Sept. 6: garbage areas 2A/B, recycling area 2B
  • Thursday, Sept. 7: garbage areas 3A/B, recycling area 3B
  • Friday, Sept. 8: garbage areas 4A/B, recycling area 4B
  • Saturday, Sept. 9: garbage area 5A/B, recycling area 5B

The City of St. John’s Council meeting, regularly scheduled for Monday, September 4 will take place 4:30 p.m. on Tuesday, September 5.