Monday, February 18, 2019 - 4:15 PM

Heritage Award Winners

The built heritage in St. John’s is a significant part of our culture. Each year on Heritage Day, the third Monday in February, the City of St. John’s gives out our annual heritage awards, which recognize individuals, businesses and institutions for outstanding efforts in heritage restoration.

“Congratulations to each of the award recipients for their commitment to protecting our identity through smart heritage development, which has a positive impact on the community and our economy,” said Councillor Maggie Burton, Council lead on Heritage.

This year, Certificates of Recognition have been awarded in several categories:

  • Preserving and Restoring the Original Character of a Building in Heritage Area 2
    • Shane Kelly for the Neyle-Soper Building, 270-272 Water Street  
  • Preserving and Restoring the Original Character of a Building in Heritage Area 2
    • Phillip Clarke on behalf of Subway and Tavish Russell on behalf of Carrick Engineering for 338 Water Street 
  • Restoring the original character of a building in Heritage Area 3
    • Isabelle Thornhill and Walter Cummings on behalf of WFC Property Services for 76 Colonial Street 
  • Infill Development that Blends into a Heritage Area 3 Neighbourhood
    • Colin Baxter, Ruth Harris and Garnet Kindervater for 6 Fort Waldegrave 
  • Rehabilitating an Older Building, Including Successfully Integrating Modern Elements
    • Sheldon Pollett on behalf of Choices for Youth for The Lilly, 54-58 Bond Street 
  • Stewardship and Long-term Preservation of a Building in Heritage Area 1
    • Bob LeMessurier on behalf of the Memorial on Parade Commemorative Committee for the Royal Newfoundland Constabulary Memorial Campus, 50 Parade Street

To learn more about the City’s Heritage Areas or Designated Heritage Buildings, visit the City website.

Media Contact:
Kelly Maguire
Media Relations
City of St. John's