Monday, December 23, 2019 - 12:45 PM

Christmas and New Year Holiday City Schedule

a red Christmas tree ornament

Due to the upcoming holidays all City offices and facilities are closed;

  • Noon on Tuesday, Dec. 24, re-opening Friday, Dec. 27
  • Noon on Tuesday, Dec. 31, re-opening Thursday, Jan. 2 

Please note the following exceptions:

  • Access St. John’s is available to residents 24/7; however front counter service is unavailable during times noted above
  • Parking meter regulations will not be enforced after noon on Tuesday, Dec. 24; Wednesday, Dec. 25; Thursday, Dec. 26; after noon on Tuesday, Dec. 31; and, Wednesday, Jan. 1
  • Animal Care and Adoption Centre is open from 3 to 5 p.m. on Saturday, Dec. 28 and Sunday, Dec. 29
  • The next City Council meeting takes place 4:30 p.m., Monday, Jan. 6 

Recreation Facilities
The H.G.R. Mews Community Centre and Paul Reynolds Community Centre:

  • Close at noon, Tuesday, Dec. 24 and re-open on Friday, Dec. 27
  • Close at noon Tuesday, Dec. 31 and re-open on Thursday, Jan. 2

All other recreation facilities are closed from noon Tuesday, Dec. 24 and re-open Thursday, Jan. 2.

Waste Collection
There is no waste collection on Wednesday, Dec. 25 and Thursday, Dec. 26. The waste collection schedule for Areas 3 and 4 moves to Friday; Area 5 moves to Saturday. 

There is no waste collection on Wednesday, Jan. 1. Collection for Area 3 moves to the next day. Area 4 and 5 are unaffected. See schedule below for details.
 

  Monday
Dec. 23
Tuesday
Dec. 24
Wednesday
Dec. 25
Thursday
Dec. 26
Friday 
Dec. 27
Saturday
Dec. 28
Garbage 1A/B 2A/B no collection no collection 3A/B, 4A/B 5A/B
Recycling 1B 2B no collection no collection 3B, 4B 5B
  Monday
Dec. 30
Tuesday
Dec. 31
Wednesday
Jan. 1
Thursday
Jan. 2
Friday 
Jan. 3
Garbage 1A/B 2A/B no collection 3A/B, 4A/B 5A/B
Recycling 1A 2A no collection 3A, 4A 5B

Christmas Tree Drop Off Locations
Only natural, undecorated trees are accepted as they will be mulched for use in landscaping projects in City parks and open spaces.

  • Quidi Vidi Lake, large gravel parking lot off The Boulevard; Saturday, Dec. 28 to Monday, Dec. 30; and Thursday, Jan 2 to Sunday, Jan 12. If the NYE fireworks are postponed due to weather the drop off will also be closed on Thursday, Jan. 2. 
  • Robin Hood Bay Residential Drop-Off, 340 East White Hills Road, from Saturday, Dec. 28 to Sunday, Jan 12. Hours of operation are Tuesday to Saturday, 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. except when closed for statutory holidays. 

The Loop at Bannerman Park
The Loop at Bannerman Park is now open for the season, but the schedule is dependent on weather and ice conditions. Call The Loop Line for information, 733-LOOP (5667).