Hot Topics

The City of St. John's ensures media, residents and businesses are kept informed about issues, programs, initiatives and projects the City is working on by posting media releases, media advisories and public service announcements to this webpage. This view shows ALL the hot topics news sorted by Publication Date in descending order. Please click 'read more' on any of the news items below to learn more.
Please subscribe to the City's news e-Updates to ensure you don't miss any of our releases.

Friday, March 31, 2017 - 2:30pm
Garbage put out at the curb for collection must be completely covered from April 1 through November 30.
Tuesday, March 28, 2017 - 12:15pm
The on-street parking ban was lifted at 7:30 a.m. on Thursday, April 6, 2017.
Thursday, March 23, 2017 - 5:00pm
If you do business with the City, you can now sign-up for electronic transfers...
Wednesday, March 22, 2017 - 3:00pm
The water we drink in St. John's has been recognized as some of the best in the world. To reach that standard it undergoes a rigorous treatment process before it is made available in our taps.
Thursday, March 16, 2017 - 12:45pm
Just in time for St. Patrick’s Day, the City of St. John’s has remounted the Twinning Lines exhibit, part of the City’s Civic Art Collection, in the Great Hall of City Hall.
Tuesday, March 14, 2017 - 5:45pm
Traffic engineers have to take all factors into consideration and make the best possible decision for the conditions and infrastructure.
Sunday, March 12, 2017 - 1:45pm
As of 9 a.m. Wednesday, March 15 there are just five intersections remaining that do not have operational signal lights.
Sunday, March 12, 2017 - 12:15pm
The warming centre at City Hall will stay open until at least 6 p.m. on Sunday, March 12...
Saturday, March 11, 2017 - 7:00pm
The current weather system and high winds affecting the City of St. John’s are causing significant damage to infrastructure throughout the city, in addition to power outages.
Thursday, March 9, 2017 - 2:15pm
The St. John’s Regional Fire Department (SJRFD) wishes to remind everyone that as you set clocks ahead this weekend, take an extra few moments to change your smoke alarm batteries.
Wednesday, March 1, 2017 - 3:30pm
Information about tax accounts owing to the City and the City's response to the Privacy Commissioner on release of information
Tuesday, February 28, 2017 - 8:00pm
The 2017 Call for Performers is open until 4 p.m. on Wednesday, March 15.
Friday, February 24, 2017 - 5:00pm
Nearly 1500 St. John's residents entered the Brier ticket giveaway offered by the City of St. John's, and the winners have been drawn.
Thursday, February 23, 2017 - 1:15pm
RSVP to attend this free information session, being held Friday, Feb. 24, for homeowners interested in learning more about saving money on home heating costs.
Tuesday, February 21, 2017 - 4:30pm
The Local Immigration Partnership is holding a Community Forum, co-led by the City of St. John's and the Association for New Canadians. Register by Thursday, Feb.23 to attend.
Monday, February 20, 2017 - 3:00pm
This course, for ages 50+, provides an introduction to bird watching basic skills, helpful resources and some of the common birds you are likely to encounter in and around St. John's.
Friday, February 17, 2017 - 4:45pm
Downtown snow removal schedules are easy to locate...
Thursday, February 16, 2017 - 3:30pm
Please note that today the City is collecting Area 3; Area 4 will be collected Friday; Area 5 will be collected Saturday
Thursday, February 16, 2017 - 2:45pm
Storm brings over 70 cm of snow to St. John's; crews working around the clock to clear streets and sidewalks
Tuesday, February 14, 2017 - 5:45pm
ChillFest is a community-wide celebration of winter, with a variety of free activities taking place Feb. 17 to 19, 2017 for the young and young at heart.
Friday, February 3, 2017 - 3:45pm
Hazardous ice conditions can be created within the City’s designated water supplies due to changing levels and flows under the ice. For your safety, please do not travel across the ice.
Saturday, January 28, 2017 - 1:00pm
The Winter Activity Centre is an outdoor facility that depends on snow and weather conditions. Before you head there call the Snow Line at 737-3651 for the latest update.
Friday, January 20, 2017 - 6:15pm
In preparation for the next snowfall Public Works crews have focused on widening many streets including all multilane and major arterials, and snow removal in the downtown core.
Wednesday, January 18, 2017 - 6:45pm
There are approximately 3,200 fire hydrants in St. John’s, each requiring regular inspection and maintenance. During winter, this includes keeping hydrants free of snow.
Monday, January 16, 2017 - 4:00pm
There's lots of snow now, and we want everyone to get out and enjoy it. We have equipment that can assist persons with disabilities participate in recreation and leisure activities.

Pages