Hot Topics

The City of St. John's ensures media, residents and businesses are kept informed about issues, programs, initiatives and projects the City is working on by posting media releases, media advisories and public service announcements to this webpage. This view shows ALL the hot topics news sorted by Publication Date in descending order. Please click 'read more' on any of the news items below to learn more.
Please subscribe to the City's news e-Updates to ensure you don't miss any of our releases.

Tuesday, December 4, 2018 - 12:45pm
The Festival of Music and Lights takes place on Saturday, Dec. 8 at 5 p.m. at the Bowring Park Duck Pond.
Friday, November 23, 2018 - 5:00pm
Infographic on Managing Waste...
Thursday, November 22, 2018 - 5:15pm
We've been celebrating National Child Day with a week full of free activities and the marquee event to close our celebrations is MOVE IT!
Friday, November 16, 2018 - 7:00pm
The city will collect donations for the food bank during your waste collection day this week, November 19 to 23. Place food items out by the road by 8 a.m.
Tuesday, November 13, 2018 - 7:45pm
Due to Remembrance Day holiday and high wind warnings in the forecast there are additional changes to the garbage and recycling schedule this week.
Tuesday, October 30, 2018 - 6:00pm
Halloween is an exciting time for trick-or-treaters and the City of St. John's want to ensure all the ghosts and goblins are safe while having fun.
Wednesday, October 10, 2018 - 7:00pm
Interview with Mayor Danny Breen and Councillor Sandy Hickman about the future of Mile One and the Convention Centre.
Friday, September 21, 2018 - 5:30pm
Understanding the budget and what’s involved in the budgeting process will help you understand how we use your tax dollars to provide the services and programs you have come to expect.
Thursday, September 13, 2018 - 11:45am
In 2019, the capital city is going to face a number of operational pressures, including anticipated increases to our annual light and power bill...
Friday, September 7, 2018 - 5:15pm
Information to assist residents in the Petty Harbour Long Pond water service area...
Friday, September 7, 2018 - 3:30pm
You’re invited to BikeFest on Sunday, September 16, a free cycling event for all ages and abilities in downtown St.John's.
Tuesday, August 28, 2018 - 12:15pm
Splash pads at Bowring Park and Bannerman Park are an alternative to cool down until Monday, Sept. 3, as the outdoor pools are closed for the season.
Friday, August 24, 2018 - 1:45pm
New softball pitch getting great use this summer...
Wednesday, August 22, 2018 - 2:15pm
The impact of property values on City revenue and budgeting...
Wednesday, August 22, 2018 - 12:45pm
There are many beautiful, healthy and friendly cats available for adoption at Humane Services, in the City of St.John's.
Monday, August 13, 2018 - 3:00pm
Children ages 10 to 12 who were participants in our recent Explore Leadership one-week day camp, held a bake sale to raise funds for the REAL Program.
Friday, August 10, 2018 - 12:15pm
The fall 2018 edition of the City Guide has been delivered to residential mailboxes in St. John's.
Tuesday, July 31, 2018 - 11:45am
What's happening downtown this summer? You're going to love it...
Friday, July 27, 2018 - 3:00pm
A recent donation of $500 from the Coleman Group of Companies has supported five children and youth from low income families in their pursuit of recreation this summer.
Wednesday, July 25, 2018 - 5:00pm
Splash pads at Bowring Park and Bannerman Park are open daily from 9 a.m. to dusk, until Labour Day.
Monday, July 23, 2018 - 4:15pm
Motorists in St. John's can use PayByPhone's mobile app to pay at 136 parking spaces on Harbour Drive. For those who do not want to download the app, the toll-free number to call is 1-866-234-7275.
Thursday, July 19, 2018 - 3:30pm
Each season our Recreation Division offers a variety of workshops, classes and other programs to all ages and interests. There are openings available in some of the upcoming sessions.
Friday, July 13, 2018 - 3:00pm
In St. John's dogs and cats are prohibited from running at large. Dogs must be on a leash and under owners control at all times when off the owner's property, including in City parks.
Thursday, July 12, 2018 - 4:00pm
Today, Mayor Danny Breen was joined by members of City Council, Mrs. Sally Johnson, and family and friends of the late Paul Johnson for the official opening of the Paul Johnson Memorial Park playgroun
Thursday, July 5, 2018 - 6:30pm
The swimming pool at Bowring Park turns 50 years-old this summer! The City of St. John’s and the Bowring Park Foundation are hosting a public celebration at the pool at 11:30 a.m. Wednesday, July 11.

Pages