Hot Topics

The City of St. John's ensures media, residents and businesses are kept informed about issues, programs, initiatives and projects the City is working on by posting media releases, media advisories and public service announcements to this webpage. This view shows ALL the hot topics news sorted by Publication Date in descending order. Please click 'read more' on any of the news items below to learn more.
Please subscribe to the City's news e-Updates to ensure you don't miss any of our releases.

Tuesday, April 21, 2020 - 9:15am
It’s time to applaud this country’s volunteers!
Friday, April 17, 2020 - 11:00am
The City of St. John’s made the difficult decision to reduce staffing levels in late March...
Wednesday, April 15, 2020 - 2:15pm
City follows all requirements of the Public Procurement Act in making what was deemed an emergency purchase...
Tuesday, April 14, 2020 - 10:15am
​Senior of the Year Award Rewards Experience
Thursday, April 9, 2020 - 11:30am
​Volunteers building healthy communities..
Monday, April 6, 2020 - 10:45am
​Tourism Awards Recognize Innovation
Friday, April 3, 2020 - 4:15pm
What to do will recycling is not being collected...
Tuesday, March 31, 2020 - 12:00pm
At this time the best way to submit applications, permits and nominations to the City of St. John’s is by email. City staff are practicing social distancing and have access to email.
Tuesday, March 24, 2020 - 9:00am
Are you using wipes to get your surfaces disinfected? If you do, make sure you throw them in the garbage, not down the toilet.
Friday, March 13, 2020 - 11:00am
The City’s role is the protection of our staff, maintaining essential services and, if required, cancelling public programs to reduce transmission.
Wednesday, February 26, 2020 - 11:15am
The Canada Games Council officially launched the bid process for the 2025 Canada Summer Games that will be held in Newfoundland and Labrador.
Monday, February 24, 2020 - 9:15am
"The 20s have returned. Maybe, with them, a new age of rebellion?..."
Friday, February 21, 2020 - 11:15am
Winter Activity Centre's at Bowring Park and Pippy Park offer winter equipment rentals and are in full operation for the season.
Wednesday, February 19, 2020 - 12:15pm
On Monday, February 17, the City of St. John’s presented the annual Heritage Awards to recognize individuals, businesses and institutions for outstanding efforts in heritage restoration.
Tuesday, February 11, 2020 - 11:30am
Celebrate winter at ChillFest! With a variety of events offered ChillFest has something for everyone and all events are free of charge to attend and open to all ages.
Tuesday, January 28, 2020 - 11:45am
Image of Mayor Danny Breen with the Deputy Commander of JTFA and Commander of 5 Canadian Division, BGen Roch Pelletier, and 5 Canadian Division Sergeant-Major, CWO Jim Smith.
Monday, January 27, 2020 - 2:00pm
The St. John’s Regional Fire Department would like to remind everyone of some safety tips for playing outside. Parents and guardians should always supervise their children when playing outside.
Sunday, January 26, 2020 - 10:45am
There are approximately 20 snow blowers operating 24/7 in multiple areas throughout the city. Your street is on our list; we haven’t forgotten you.
Thursday, January 23, 2020 - 7:45pm
Crews are working hard to open up all streets throughout the city during this state of emergency...
Saturday, January 18, 2020 - 1:15pm
As Saturday, Jan. 25 at 6 a.m. the State of Emergency is lifted...
Thursday, January 16, 2020 - 11:30am
Statement from Council on snow clearing this year...
Tuesday, January 14, 2020 - 3:00pm
There are approximately 3,200 fire hydrants in the City of St. John’s that require regular inspection and maintenance, including keeping them free of snow.
Thursday, January 9, 2020 - 1:30pm
The City of St. John's offers ski and snowshoe rentals at Winter Activity Centre's located in Pippy Park and Bowring Park.
Thursday, January 2, 2020 - 3:00pm
The City of St. John’s is accepting nominations for the 2020 Heritage Awards. The deadline is Monday, January 20.
Monday, December 23, 2019 - 11:30am
The Loop at Bannerman Park is now open for the 2019-2020 season!

Pages