Hot Topics

The City of St. John's ensures media, residents and businesses are kept informed about issues, programs, initiatives and projects the City is working on by posting media releases, media advisories and public service announcements to this webpage. This view shows ALL the hot topics news sorted by Publication Date in descending order. Please click 'read more' on any of the news items below to learn more.
Please subscribe to the City's news e-Updates to ensure you don't miss any of our releases.

Wednesday, May 8, 2019 - 11:30am
Windsor Lake and Bay Bulls Big Pond Water Treatment Facilities are setting the bar high for a strong safety culture...
Monday, May 6, 2019 - 12:30pm
Emergency Preparedness Week is May 5 to 11, this year’s theme is ‘Be Emergency Ready’. Everyone has a role to play in being prepared for an emergency.
Monday, April 29, 2019 - 12:30pm
National Youth Week recognizes youth and their active participation in the community whether it is through theatre, recreation, sport, art, volunteering, leadership or community engagement.
Wednesday, April 24, 2019 - 3:30pm
We're celebrating that we've achieved the highest level of quality and safety in children's sport and recreation programs with FREE community events!
Thursday, April 11, 2019 - 12:45pm
Since 2016 over $86,000 in grant funding has been awarded to 34 successful applicants to the Heritage Financial Incentives Program. Learn more and apply today!
Monday, April 1, 2019 - 11:45am
On Monday, April 1, construction begins on Water Street between Bishop’s Cove and Ayre’s Cove for the second phase of a five-year project to rehabilitate underground infrastructure.
Monday, March 25, 2019 - 7:30pm
Our City, Our Future is a plan that will guide our decisions and actions over the next ten years.
Tuesday, March 19, 2019 - 1:00pm
Multiculturalism Week provides us the opportunity to engage in sharing, learning, and creating a more dynamic community, one that we can be part of and proud of.
Thursday, March 14, 2019 - 4:45pm
Two drop-in information sessions about the Water Street construction project are scheduled for businesses, residents and property owners at City Hall on March 19 & 21.
Friday, March 8, 2019 - 1:15pm
International Women's Day is March 8, 2019...
Monday, March 4, 2019 - 6:00pm
Council asks the federal government to reconsider secondary treatment deadlines...
Monday, March 4, 2019 - 1:30pm
Adaptive equipment is available to borrow for free, to individuals who require their use. Contact the City's Inclusion staff at inclusion@stjohns.ca or call 576-6972.
Thursday, February 28, 2019 - 7:15pm
For the safety and quality of your drinking water do not undertake recreational activities such as skiing, snowshoeing or snowmobiling on our drinking water source areas.
Monday, February 25, 2019 - 5:45pm
Questions about snow operations?
Wednesday, February 20, 2019 - 2:45pm
The built heritage in St. John’s is a significant part of our culture. Each year on Heritage Day the City recognizes outstanding efforts in heritage restoration with the annual heritage awards.
Tuesday, February 12, 2019 - 7:30pm
​ChillFest 2019 takes place Thursday, Feb.14 to Monday, Feb. 18. See the complete events listing by clicking 'read more'.
Wednesday, February 6, 2019 - 5:15pm
Holmes, who passed away February 1, 2019, was one of the city's most prolific muralists.
Thursday, January 31, 2019 - 1:00pm
Poet Mary Dalton has been chosen as the new Poet Laureate for the City of St. John’s, was officially welcomed in the position at the public City Council meeting on Monday, Feb. 11, 2019.
Tuesday, January 22, 2019 - 8:15pm
On Jan. 22 the City was contacted by a member of the media to advise of a privacy breach related to an Access to Information request.The City apologizes to anyone whose privacy may have been affected.
Thursday, January 3, 2019 - 5:45pm
The Winter Activity Centre at Pippy Park opens for the season on Friday, Jan. 4 and the following weekend on Saturday, Jan. 12 in Bowring Park. For details click 'read more'
Thursday, December 27, 2018 - 1:45pm
The City of St. John’s invites residents to join our New Year’s Eve celebrations on Monday, December 31 with free events for all ages. Click 'read more' for all details.
Thursday, December 20, 2018 - 1:00pm
The Loop at Bannerman Park opens at noon Thursday, Dec. 20 and will be open daily from 10 a.m. to 11 p.m. when ice conditions are favourable.
Tuesday, December 18, 2018 - 7:00pm
The Peoples’ Choice Award winner for the City’s bike rack design contest, including a $1,000 prize, is Costal Cycle Station (Whale tail design) submitted by Deborah Guillemette.
Thursday, December 13, 2018 - 3:45pm
Since the release and approval of this year’s budget for 2019, there has been public discussion and debate about the tax burden for local business operators. Council have clarified some key points.
Wednesday, December 5, 2018 - 12:00pm
The REAL program is fully dependent on your financial support to provide children and youth in with recreation and leisure experiences. Consider giving the gift of play this holiday season.

Pages