Hot Topics

The City of St. John's ensures media, residents and businesses are kept informed about issues, programs, initiatives and projects the City is working on by posting media releases, media advisories and public service announcements to this webpage. This view shows ALL the hot topics news sorted by Publication Date in descending order. Please click 'read more' on any of the news items below to learn more.
Please subscribe to the City's news e-Updates to ensure you don't miss any of our releases.

Tuesday, May 31, 2016 - 3:30pm
HIGH FIVE® is Canada's quality standard for children's recreation and sport, and gives organizations an approach to enhance program quality and provide positive experiences for children.
Monday, May 30, 2016 - 12:30pm
See St. John's in a different light - be a hometown tourist this summer!
Thursday, May 26, 2016 - 1:30pm
Philanthropist Elinor Gill Ratcliffe was awarded the Freedom of the City on Thursday, May 19.
Wednesday, May 18, 2016 - 6:00pm
Due to the Victoria Day holiday on Monday, May 23 all City offices and facilities will be closed. Garbage and recycling pick up will occur the day after regular collection day for all areas this week.
Tuesday, May 17, 2016 - 3:45pm
The City of St. John’s, in partnership with the MMSB and MUN Botanical Garden, are offering free backyard composting information sessions to residents of St. John’s.
Thursday, May 12, 2016 - 2:45pm
The Balmoral cruise ship, with 1860 passengers and crew, is scheduled to arrive in the Port of St. John’s on Friday, May 13 at 8 a.m. and depart at 2 p.m.
Wednesday, May 11, 2016 - 1:45pm
Grade five students from MacDonald Drive Elementary visited City Hall to learn more about their municipality for Municipal Awareness Day, Wednesday, May 11, 2016.
Thursday, May 5, 2016 - 4:45pm
The next Music At event of 2016 is at the Quidi Vidi Village Plantation on Saturday, May 7 from 1 to 2 p.m. - and it's free to attend!
Wednesday, May 4, 2016 - 3:45pm
On behalf of the residents of the City of St. John's, Council sends its thoughts and prayers to the residents of Fort McMurray, Alberta.
Wednesday, May 4, 2016 - 2:15pm
Emergency Preparedness Week is May 1 to 7, 2016. Are you and your family prepared to be on your own for the first 72 hours of an emergency?
Tuesday, May 3, 2016 - 2:45pm
Registration for summers programs, for all ages, begins for St. John’s residents at 7 a.m. on Thursday, May 5, and a week later on May 12 for residents of other municipalities.
Tuesday, May 3, 2016 - 11:30am
Unfortunately the Outdoor Cooking course has been cancelled due to low registration.
Monday, May 2, 2016 - 2:45pm
The 14th Annual Youth Art Exhibit officially opens on Monday, May 2 from 7 to 8 p.m. in the Great Hall at City Hall, and is on display during business hours until Friday, May 6.
Friday, April 29, 2016 - 12:45pm
The St. John's Regional Fire Department along with Fire and Emergency Services-NL invites you to "Get Prepared" by attending a display of emergency response preparedness equipment.
Thursday, April 28, 2016 - 1:30pm
A Regional Demographic Survey has been conducted this winter and it is nearing completion. If you receive a phone call asking for your participation we encourage you to take part.
Wednesday, April 27, 2016 - 4:15pm
Some spaces remain in our spring swimming lessons and courses, for ages 8 up to adult. All sessions begin the week of May 1 and are open to residents of any municipality.
Tuesday, April 26, 2016 - 4:15pm
Free information sessions about backyard composting, including bins for purchase at the end of the session, are being offered this spring.
Monday, April 18, 2016 - 12:00pm
Are you concerned about coyotes in your neighbourhood?...
Friday, April 15, 2016 - 12:00pm
As a proud member of the 2016 Inclusive Communities Summit Planning Committee, the City of St. John’s would like to congratulate Empower – The Disability Awareness Centre.
Thursday, April 14, 2016 - 11:45am
The City of St. John’s values the contributions of all volunteers and the impact they have on the community as a whole, including City staff who volunteer.
Wednesday, April 13, 2016 - 11:15am
The City of St. John’s values the contributions of all volunteers and the impact they have on the community as a whole, including City staff who volunteer.
Tuesday, April 12, 2016 - 5:30pm
Ward 4 City Councillor Sheilagh O'Leary is hosting a free information session regarding coyotes for residents of Airport Heights on Thursday, April 14.
Tuesday, April 12, 2016 - 11:30am
The City of St. John’s values the contributions of all volunteers and the impact they have on the community as a whole, including City staff who volunteer.
Monday, April 11, 2016 - 1:00pm
The City of St. John’s values the contributions of all volunteers and the impact they have on the community as a whole, including City staff who volunteer.
Friday, April 8, 2016 - 3:00pm
Today, over 100 volunteers attended the Annual Volunteer Week reception at the Bruneau Centre for Innovation and Research at Memorial University.

Pages