Hot Topics

The City of St. John's ensures media, residents and businesses are kept informed about issues, programs, initiatives and projects the City is working on by posting media releases, media advisories and public service announcements to this webpage. This view shows ALL the hot topics news sorted by Publication Date in descending order. Please click 'read more' on any of the news items below to learn more.
Please subscribe to the City's news e-Updates to ensure you don't miss any of our releases.

Wednesday, November 9, 2016 - 3:15pm
On October 13, 2016 the Boys and Girls Clubs of St. John's assumed the operation of the St. John's Recreation Centre at Buckmaster's Circle, formerly operated by the City of St. John's.
Monday, November 7, 2016 - 3:00pm
From Monday, Nov. 14 to Friday, Nov. 18 the City of St. John’s is holding a food drive to collect non-perishable food items in support of the Community Food Sharing Association.
Thursday, November 3, 2016 - 3:00pm
The Sisters of Presentation have gifted 160 year-old St. Patrick's Convent, in the west end of downtown, to the City of St. John's for use as affordable supportive housing for seniors.
Wednesday, November 2, 2016 - 3:45pm
We've made a change to collecting leaves in paper yard waste bags - you can now make an appointment the day before the garbage day, as long as it's made by 3pm.
Tuesday, November 1, 2016 - 12:00pm
From November 1 to 11, vehicles with Veteran Plates will not be ticketed on meters in the City of St. John’s.
Friday, October 28, 2016 - 12:30pm
​It's the spookiest time of the year... but you can take the 'scary' out of Halloween by following the advice of Neighbourhood Watch and the St. John's Regional Fire Department.
Thursday, October 20, 2016 - 3:00pm
Humane Services invites you to ‘Fall in Love’ with a new pet cat for your family with discounted adoption fees from October 24 to 30.
Monday, October 17, 2016 - 5:30pm
In recognition of Waste Reduction Week, October 17 to 23, the City of St. John's is encouraging residents and organizations to reduce waste this week and throughout the year.
Monday, October 17, 2016 - 2:00pm
The City is once again encouraging environmentally-friendly uses for fallen leaves. Your options include mulching, compost and curbside collection by appointment.
Friday, October 14, 2016 - 2:00pm
Part of the proceeds from Pumpkinfest admission go towards the R.E.A.L Program, which provides recreation and leisure experiences to St. John's children and youth in financial need.
Wednesday, October 12, 2016 - 5:15pm
Fire Prevention Week is from Oct. 9 to 15, 2016 and the St. John's Regional Fire Department is urging residents to "Don't Wait, Check the Date" and replace fire alarms every 10 years.
Friday, October 7, 2016 - 4:30pm
Join City councillors and staff for an informative drop-in about City services and programs, all at a location near you.
Friday, October 7, 2016 - 2:30pm
Have you received your 2017 Notice of Assessment? If you own a property in St. John's and have not received your assessment in the mail, please contact us.
Wednesday, October 5, 2016 - 12:30pm
All landlords and property managers with rental property in St. John’s are encouraged to take the survey which addresses barriers, obstacles and opportunities of achieving a successful tenancy.
Thursday, September 29, 2016 - 3:45pm
Together with Memorial University and Desjardins Group the City hosted a mixer for International Students at City Hall on Wednesday, September 28.
Wednesday, September 28, 2016 - 6:15pm
The City of St. John's has partnered with the MUN Botanical Garden and the Multi Materials Stewardship Board to offer free information sessions and low cost backyard compost bins to city residents.
Tuesday, September 27, 2016 - 1:45pm
As part of the 2016 sewer assessment, sewer vapour testing is occurring this week along Heffernan’s Line, Doyles Road and sections of Main Road in Goulds.
Monday, September 26, 2016 - 6:15pm
Try archery, hut construction, orienteering and more during our Fall Outdoor Adventure on Sunday, Oct. 2. It's fun for the entire family, and best of all, it's FREE!
Wednesday, September 14, 2016 - 3:45pm
"The City to St. John's is pleased to see shovels in the ground on this new build..."
Monday, September 12, 2016 - 1:00pm
There's an incredible opportunity to purchase and restore an historic, 168-year-old home in downtown St. John's, NL Canada.
Thursday, September 8, 2016 - 5:00pm
If you've never driven a roundabout and are wondering how to navigate one, watching this video might help.
Wednesday, September 7, 2016 - 10:30am
Since fall 2015 the speed limit around elementary schools on residential roads in the City of St. John's has been reduced to 30 kilometres per hour.
Friday, September 2, 2016 - 12:30pm
The splash pad at Bannerman Park will remain operational until dusk on Saturday, Sept. 10.
Monday, August 29, 2016 - 11:15am
The Humane Services Animal Care and Adoption shelter is at capacity, there are over 80 adorable cats and kittens in need of a ‘fur’ever home.
Monday, August 22, 2016 - 2:15pm
The City of St. John’s aims to conserve significant heritage resources including buildings and streetscapes. To further this objective the City has created a Heritage Financial Incentives Program.

Pages