Hot Topics

The City of St. John's ensures media, residents and businesses are kept informed about issues, programs, initiatives and projects the City is working on by posting media releases, media advisories and public service announcements to this webpage. This view shows ALL the hot topics news sorted by Publication Date in descending order. Please click 'read more' on any of the news items below to learn more.
Please subscribe to the City's news e-Updates to ensure you don't miss any of our releases.

Wednesday, August 23, 2017 - 5:45pm
Children from community centres and activity centres across the city were asked to show how they felt about their neighbourhoods through a visual art display.
Monday, August 14, 2017 - 6:45pm
Beginning August 16 a small section of Heavy Tree Road, between Brookfield Road and Commonwealth Road, will be permanently closed to all traffic.
Wednesday, August 9, 2017 - 5:30pm
The City is working towards a number of roundabouts in the MUN area. Here's why...
Tuesday, August 8, 2017 - 12:15pm
City to host an information session for potential candidates....
Monday, August 7, 2017 - 7:30pm
Council has accepted the MUN Traffic Study and will incorporate recommendations into City plans...
Monday, August 7, 2017 - 2:15pm
Effective immediately motorists are no longer permitted to enter Winter Avenue from King’s Bridge Road.
Wednesday, July 26, 2017 - 3:30pm
Did you know that you must register to vote for the upcoming municipal election?
Monday, July 24, 2017 - 1:30pm
You have a role to play in using our water system effeciently...
Wednesday, July 19, 2017 - 2:00pm
Artist Julie Lewis has been selected to design and paint the Great Fire of 1892 commemorative mural at McBride’s Hill in St. John’s.
Monday, July 17, 2017 - 2:30pm
The City has awarded over $16,000 to seven residents who applied to the Heritage Financial Incentives Program in 2017. The program aims to conserve heritage by assisting property owners with grants.
Thursday, July 13, 2017 - 1:45pm
These pop up events will get the whole family moving outside! It’s free to attend and activities are parent/guardian led, City staff are onsite to help facilitate.
Wednesday, July 12, 2017 - 2:30pm
Looking for a great way to spend your lunch breaks? The Music @ concert series started last week, so grab your co-workers and your lunch and enjoy some local entertainment.
Thursday, June 29, 2017 - 12:30pm
We're celebrating the nation's birthday with a day full of events...
Thursday, June 29, 2017 - 12:15pm
The 16th Annual Party in the Park is July 6...
Friday, June 16, 2017 - 1:00pm
Residents are invited to celebrate St.John’s Days from Friday, June 23 to Sunday, June 25 with free events taking place for all ages.
Monday, June 12, 2017 - 6:30pm
The Paul Reynolds Community Centre at 35 Carrick Drive is open. Make a splash with family and friends in the Paula Kelly Aquatic Centre!
Monday, June 5, 2017 - 6:00pm
A section of Military Road is closed for six weeks for upgrades to the concrete curb, gutter and sidewalk, a section of sewer, and to the road structure itself.
Monday, May 29, 2017 - 5:30pm
The Provincial Government, the City of St. John’s, Eastern Health and local community outreach organizations are partnering to educate the public about fentanyl-related overdoses and deaths.
Friday, May 26, 2017 - 6:30pm
Wondering where we are with the implemention our the new Municipal Plan
Thursday, May 25, 2017 - 3:00pm
The free Music @ concert series is suitable for all ages, and the Sunday, May 28 offering features Julia Bryant opening for headlining act Rozalind MacPhail.
Friday, May 19, 2017 - 3:45pm
Important water system upgrades to the Portugal Cove Road water transmission main replacement will benefit thousands of St. John’s residents.
Wednesday, May 17, 2017 - 5:45pm
Help us protect the safety and quality of drinking water for the 200,000 people who live in the northeast Avalon and do not fish or boat in our three watershed areas.
Thursday, May 11, 2017 - 4:15pm
From time to time, parking meters operated by the City of St. John’s may be bagged with a bright, yellow bag. A yellow bag on a meter indicates that the parking space is not available.
Monday, May 8, 2017 - 7:45pm
City announces $455,000 in funding
Friday, May 5, 2017 - 11:30am
Take a sneak peek inside the new Community Market at Freshwater Road, where construction will soon begin.

Pages