Hot Topics

The City of St. John's ensures media, residents and businesses are kept informed about issues, programs, initiatives and projects the City is working on by posting media releases, media advisories and public service announcements to this webpage. This view shows ALL the hot topics news sorted by Publication Date in descending order. Please click 'read more' on any of the news items below to learn more.
Please subscribe to the City's news e-Updates to ensure you don't miss any of our releases.

Wednesday, October 13, 2021 - 3:15pm
On Tuesday, October 12, 2021, the newly elected members of St. John's City Council were officially sworn in to office.
Tuesday, October 12, 2021 - 3:45pm
Contacting previous season ticket holders is standard practice at Mile One
Tuesday, October 12, 2021 - 10:15am
St. John’s Regional Fire Department are hosting 'The Fighting Chance' fundraiser on October 16 to raise funds for mental health and addictions challenges.
Friday, October 8, 2021 - 3:00pm
The Labyrinth in Bowring Park is officially open to the public.
Tuesday, October 5, 2021 - 4:00pm
From October 3-9, the St. John’s Regional Fire Department (SJRFD) is joining forces with the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) to ask residents to Learn the Sounds of Fire Safety!
Friday, October 1, 2021 - 12:30pm
Lester’s Farm is holding its 20th annual Pumpkinfest on weekends throughout October. Proceeds from the event are donated to the REAL program and Mount Pearl Sport Alliance.
Thursday, September 30, 2021 - 9:00am
We all have a role to play in advancing truth and reconciliation in our community.
Wednesday, September 29, 2021 - 10:00am
Families of all ages can enjoy the beautiful outdoors at Rotary 'Sunshine' Park while engaging in archery, orienteering, hut building, slackline and field games.
Tuesday, September 28, 2021 - 3:30pm
Tuesday, September 28 is election day in the City of St. John’s.
Friday, September 24, 2021 - 11:30am
This fall you are encouraged to drop into a community centre near you to get active.
Tuesday, September 21, 2021 - 11:30am
Seniors’ Week is from September 27 to October 1. Register for a free event, learn more...
Thursday, September 16, 2021 - 2:15pm
Vote by Mail kits are being delivered – please check your mailbox. The deadline to mail the completed kit through Canada Post is Thursday. Sept. 23
Wednesday, September 15, 2021 - 12:00pm
Register for fall programs in St. John's.
Monday, September 13, 2021 - 11:45am
St. John’s Regional Fire Department and IAFF Local 1075 are asking that you and your organization take part in 'The Fighting Chance' fundraiser by taking a shift “In the Bucket” on Sun, Sept 19.
Saturday, September 11, 2021 - 1:30pm
Hurricane Larry caused a significant amount of tree and property damage throughout the City of St. John’s, and clean up efforts are ongoing.
Wednesday, September 8, 2021 - 10:45am
​It’s hurricane season and the City of St. John’s is asking everyone to do their part to be prepared.
Wednesday, September 8, 2021 - 9:00am
Chemicals used to disinfect swimming pools and hot tubs are toxic to aquatic organisms and can be harmful to the natural environment, impacting the ecological balance and health of watersheds.
Thursday, September 2, 2021 - 2:00pm
It's the final weekend for the 2021 Pedestrian Mall event (July 2 to September 6).
Thursday, September 2, 2021 - 10:00am
The upcoming City Council meeting includes a Council vote on funding Electric Vehicle charging stations at City facilities.
Wednesday, September 1, 2021 - 12:30pm
A recent continuous improvement project reviewed and improved our aquatics scheduling process ensuring staff are on site and available for the public.
Monday, August 30, 2021 - 11:15am
Congratulations to Bill Conway, crossing guard at Larkhall Academy, on being awarded Canada's Favourite Crossing Guard from Parachute, Canada's national charity dedicated to injury prevention.
Thursday, August 26, 2021 - 3:30pm
Enjoy the performances and entertainment at downtown this weekend! Don't forget to explore more areas that are outside the Pedestrian Mall.
Wednesday, August 25, 2021 - 9:00am
In recognition of World Water Week we are highlighting some of how the City provides and maintains the regional water service, and some ways residents can wisely use water.
Monday, August 23, 2021 - 11:00am
The City of St. John’s municipal election is Tuesday, September 28. Accessibility and inclusion is an important part of the upcoming election.
Thursday, August 19, 2021 - 4:00pm
Enjoy the performances, information and entertainment at the Downtown Pedestrian Mall this weekend!

Pages