Committee of the Whole

Committee of the Whole/Standing Committee

Committee of the Whole (COTW) meetings take place every second Wednesday from 9:00 a.m. to 12 noon in the Council Chamber on the Fourth Floor of City Hall.  All meetings are chaired by the Mayor and the agendas will consist of specific portfolios overseen by various members of Council as per the list below:

Councillor Porftolio
Mayor Danny Breen
  • Governance & Strategic Priorities
  • Economic Development
  • Big City Mayors Caucus
  • Citizenship Court
Deputy Mayor Sheilagh O'Leary
  • Housing
  • Municipalities Newfoundland & Labrador (MNL) Baord Rep
  • Pippy Park Commission
  • Urban Municipalities Caucus Rep
  • Northeast Avalon Joint Council
Councillor Maggie Burton
  • Planning & Development
  • Youth Advisory Committee
  • Development Committee
  • Animal Care and Control
  • Audit Committee
  • Heritage
Councillor Dave Lane
  • Finance & Administration
  • Business Support Initiative
  • St. John's Transportation Commission
  • Bicycling Advisory Committee
  • Water Street Infrastructure Project Liaison
Councillor Sandy Hickman
  • Transportation & Regulatory Services
  • Canadian Capital Cities Organization
  • Taxi Committee
  • Bowring Park Foundation
  • NL Sports Centre
Councillor Debbie Hanlon
  • Tourism, Culture & Immigration
  • Downtown St. John's Board
  • Cruise Ship Liaison
  • Arts Advisory Committee
Councillor Deanne Stapleton
  • Seniors Advisory Committee
  • Inclusion Advisory Committee
  • Neighborhood Watch
  • Clean St. John's
  • Graffiti Task Force
  • Audit Committee
Councillor Shawn Skinner
  • Victoria Park Foundation
  • Railway Coastal Museum
  • Special Events Advisory Committee
  • St. John's Transportation Commission
Councillor Jamie Korab
  • Community Services
  • Chair - St. John's Sports and Entertainment (SJSE)
  • Quidi Vidi Rennies River Development Foundation
Councillor Ian Froude
  • Public Works and Sustainability
  • Chair - St. John's Transportation Commission
  • Environment and Sustainability Experts Panel
Councillor Wally Collins
  • Regional Fire Services Committee
  • Regional Water Committee
  • Regional Wastewater Committee
  • Shea Heights Board
  • Goulds' Recreation Association


Committee of the Whole agendas before July 2019 can be found here and minutes before July 2019 can be found here.
Minutes and Agendas after July 2019 can be found on the calendar