Election Overview

Election Overview

St. John's City HallElection 2017
The City of St. John's will be conducting its next municipal election this September with the vote by mail process, an efficient and convenient method allowing electors to vote in the privacy of their own home. The City has been successfully using vote by mail since 2001. The election period begins on Friday, September 8, 2017 when mail-in ballots are inducted into the postal system and ends at 8 p.m. on election day - Tuesday, September 26, 2017.   

Municipal Council Composition
Prospective candidates will have the option to run for one of the following 11 positions:     

  • Mayor
  • Deputy Mayor
  • Councillor at Large (four positions)
  • Councillor - Ward 1
  • Councillor - Ward 2
  • Councillor - Ward 3
  • Councillor - Ward 4
  • Councillor - Ward 5

Ward Boundary Changes
In order to equalize the population densities within each of the five wards, Council approved ward boundary changes that will take effect on Election Day.  As a result, the ward you presently live in may be changing.  If so, this change will automatically be reflected on your mail-in ballot. Click the following link to determine if your ward will be changing: Ward Look-Up. The following link delineates the present ward boundaries from the new: New Ward Boundaries Map. Ward 5 is the only ward with no boundary changes.

The following legislation is used to govern all aspects of the City of St. John's Municipal Election

   Key Election Dates

Residency required to qualify as candidate Sunday, July 23, 2017
Residency required to qualify as voter Sunday, August 27, 2017
First day for candidate nominations Tuesday, August 22, 2017
Last day for candidate nominations Tuesday, August 29, 2017
Last day to withdraw nomination Wednesday, August 30, 2017
Mailing day for vote-by-mail kits Friday, September 8, 2017
Last day to mail return envelopes Friday, September 22, 2017
Election Period Friday, September 8 - Tuesday, September 26, 2017
Election Day Tuesday, September 26, 2017
Last day to apply for a recount Friday, September 29, 2017
Swearing in ceremony Tuesday, October 10, 2017
Last day to file campaign contribution and expense declaration form Monday, December 25, 2017

The Chief Returning Officer is Elaine Henley, City Clerk who is responsible for administering the election.

The Elections Coordinator is responsible for coordinating all aspects of the 2017 Municipal Election and is the key contact:

Karen Chafe, Elections Coordinator
P.O. Box 908
St. John's, NL 
A1C 5M2
Telephone: 709-576-8619
Email: election@stjohns.ca